What is the caste of Pujari?

What is the caste of Pujari?

What is the caste of Pujari?

Pujare also known as Pujar, Pujara or Pujari, traditionally belonged to the priestly class in the Brahmin community of the Maratha society. They are the original inhabitants of Rameshwar in Devgad Taluka of Sindhudurg District in Maharashtra, India.

Which category is Vishwakarma?

Karnataka. The Vishwakarma caste of south Karnataka is composed of several sub-castes: Kulachar, Uttaradi (goldsmiths), Matachar (founders), Muulekammaras, and Chikkamanes. Sub-castes do intermarry, and have a hierarchy among themselves.

Which caste is Shetty belong to?

Hindu Bunts community
They belong to Hindu Bunts community,which is an upper caste in Karnataka.

Can a woman be a Pujari?

261 wherein it was held, following the opinion of the Sadar Court Pandits, that a woman was disqualified by reason of her sex from inheriting the office of Acharuapurusha but the same Pandit’s opinion distinctly recognizes that religious offices like those of an Archaka or Pujari can be held by a female, by her getting …

Is Vishwakarma Lohar a Brahmin?

The Lohar of Madhya Pradesh come in General category and are also called Panchal Brahmins (5 sub-castes) since Lohar is one of the five sub-castes of Vishwakarma. Most common surname being Sharma.

Is Shetty a Brahmin caste?

Shetty is a surname from coastal Karnataka in India. It is found among Hindus of the Bunt community. Kshatriyas originate from Vedic culture of ancient India. They are the part of Vedic Varna Vyavastha which is devided into four parts, namely Brahmin, Kshatriya, Vashya, Shudra.

Can non Brahmins be priests?

There are non-Brahmins also working as archakas for a long time. In north Karnataka, they do not have Brahmins as archakas in many places, people from other castes also are allowed as priests,” said S Prakash. If somebody wants to become a priest, they are most welcome.