What is the four blocks approach?

What is the four blocks approach?

What is the four blocks approach?

The Four Blocks program — based on the premise that all children don’t learn in the same way — integrates four language arts areas into reading instruction. Those areas are: guided reading, self-selected reading, writing, and working with words.

What does a typical literacy Block of instruction include?

During the Word Study portion of the balanced literacy block, teachers provide explicit and systematic instruction in the building blocks of literacy—book and print awareness, phonological and phonemic awareness, phonics and the alphabetic principle, and word and structural analysis.

What is a literacy block?

occurs when an expert reader reads a difficult text to less experienced readers, enabling the experienced reader to model how effective readers sound, solve and think about texts when reading. The “think aloud” strategy is used strategically by the expert reader to model thinking and problem solving actions.

What does good literacy instruction look like?

The teacher explanation should be short and concise. It should provide an objective or a target area of learning for that part of the lesson, and the quicker the teacher explanation is, the more time there is for students to respond to instruction. So, quick and concise is key with a teacher explanation.

What are the four blocks of a balanced literacy program?

Hall in 1989-90 in a first grade classroom. The Four Blocks (Guided Reading, Self-Selected Reading, Writing, and Working with Words) represent four different approaches to teaching children to read.

What is a predictable chart?

Predictable Chart Writing is a shared, group writing activity that results in a classroom book. Engaging in writing is typically a challenging and often abandoned activity for students with significant disabilities. This writing activity has been adapted for students who are unable to speak and unable to hold a pencil.

What is a balanced literacy block of instruction?

A Balanced literacy program strikes a balance between both whole language and phonics. There are five different components of balanced literacy: The read aloud, guided reading, shared reading, independent reading, and Word study.

What are students doing during the literacy block?

Blocks may include the following components: independent reading, independent writing, guided reading, guided writing, word study and language study.

What are the 4 areas of literacy?

Guided reading, then, is the ideal place to instruct students in each of the four key literacy areas: print conventions, word recognition, comprehension, and writing. Effective teaching, assessment, and intervention in each of the four key literacy areas are shaped by new understandings of literacy learning.

What are the 4 common elements of new literacies?

A recent review (Coiro et al., 2008) concludes that most lowercase new literacies perspectives share four elements: 1. New Literacies include the new skills, strategies, dispositions, and social practices that are required by new technologies for information and communication; 2.