How many states are there in India in list with names?

How many states are there in India in list with names?

How many states are there in India in list with names?

India now has 28 states and 8 UTs

S.NO State Capital
1 Andhra Pradesh Amaravati
2 Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
3 Assam Dispur
4 Bihar Patna

How many states are there in India in 2021?

29 states
The federal union of India is broken into 29 states and seven territories. All of the states and unions of the nation have three capitals. The first is the administrative capital, which is home to the executive government offices.

Is it 28 or 29 states in India?

India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government. There are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her.

What are the names of all the States in India?

There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh , Arunachal Pradesh , Assam, Bihar , Chhattisgarh , Goa , Gujarat, Haryana , Himachal Pradesh , Jammu and Kashmir ,…

What is the largest state in India?

Rajasthan with an area of 342,239 sq km is the largest state in India. Before the formation of Chattisgarh as a separate state in the year 2000, Madhya Pradesh was the largest Indian state in terms of area.

What are all of the Indian states?


  • Hyderabad (De jure – 2 June 2024) Amaravati (proposed)
  • Itanagar
  • Dispur
  • Patna
  • Raipur
  • Panaji
  • Gandhinagar
  • Chandigarh (shared with Punjab)
  • Shimla
  • What is the total number of States in India?

    India consists of 28 states and 8 union territories, including the National Capital Territory of Delhi. In August 2019, the Indian Parliament passed a resolution to divide the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories, Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) and Ladakh, which came into action on 31 October 2019.