What are the 10 Dishas?

What are the 10 Dishas?

What are the 10 Dishas?


  • Kubera (North)
  • Yama (South)
  • Indra (East)
  • Varuṇa (West)
  • Īśāna (Northeast)
  • Agni (Southeast)
  • Vayu (Northwest)
  • Nirṛti (Southwest)

Who was guardian of South Hinduism?

The Hindu protectors, who ride on elephants, are Indra, who governs the east, Yama the south, Varuṇa the west, and Kubera the north. Kubera, also referred to as Vaiśravaṇa, is common to both Hindu and Buddhist traditions.

Who is Niruthi God?

Nirṛti (निर्ऋति, sometimes spelled Nirruti or Nirriti) is a Hindu goddess, personifying death, decay and sorrows. In some Hindu scriptures, Nirṛti is associated with Adharma. In later Hinduism, Nirṛti and Nirṛta is also a male god, who is regarded as a dikapala (“guardian of the directions”) of the southwest.

Who was the guardian of the Hinduism?

In Hinduism The four principal guardians are: Kubera (North) Yama (South) Indra (East)

How many types of Disha are there?

There are mainly Four types East (Purva), West (Paschima), North (Uttara) and South (Dakshina) of Disha. But Disha can also be classified in 8 if one include the Kona in it i.e. Purva, Paschima, Uttara, Dakshina, Ishana, Vayavya, Nairutya and Agni.

Who is the Hindu god of fire?

Agni, (Sanskrit: “Fire”) fire-god of Hinduism, second only to Indra in the Vedic mythology of ancient India. He is equally the fire of the sun, of lightning, and of both the domestic and the sacrificial hearth.

Who is the god of north direction?

Jupiter is the lord of the north-east direction, which is also called as the as ‘Ishan kona’, explains Jayshree Dhamani, a Vastu Shastra and astrology expert. “Ishan is Ishwar or God.

What are the 4 directions?

North, east, south, and west are the four cardinal directions, often marked by the initials N, E, S, and W. East and west are at right angles to north and south. East is in the clockwise direction of rotation from north. West is directly opposite east.

What are the 16 compass points?

On a compass rose with ordinal, cardinal, and secondary intercardinal directions, there will be 16 points: N, NNE, NY, ENE, E, ESE, SE, SSE, S, SSW, SW, WSW, W, NWN, NW, and NNW.