What axis does schizophrenia fall under?

What axis does schizophrenia fall under?

What axis does schizophrenia fall under?

DSM-IV-TR (axial diagnosis) DSM-5 (non-axial diagnosis)
Axis I: Clinical Disorders
Axis II: Developmental Disorders , Personality Disorders Psychiatric and Medical Diagnoses
Axis III: General Medical Conditions

What is Axis 4 of the DSM?

According to DSM-IV (see Text Box), “Axis IV is for reporting psychosocial and environmental problems that may affect the diagnosis, treatment, and prognosis of mental disorders” (DSM-IV, p. 31).

What is the DSM IV definition of schizophrenia?

Schizophrenia (DSM-IV-TR #295.1–295.3, 295.90) Schizophrenia is a chronic, more or less debilitating illness characterized by perturbations in cognition, affect and behavior, all of which have a bizarre aspect. Delusions, also generally bizarre, and hallucinations, generally auditory in type, also typically occur.

What are the new axes of the DSM IV?

Instead, the new non-axial diagnosis combines the former Axes I, II and III and include separate notations for the type of information which would have previously fallen into Axes IV and V. Axis I provided information about clinical disorders.

Which is an axis of the DSM system?

Axis II provided information about personality disorders and mental retardation. 1  Disorders which would have fallen under this axis include: Axis III provided information about any medical conditions that were present which might impact the patient’s mental disorder or its management. 1 

What’s the difference between DSM IV and DSM 5?

Table 3.22 DSM-IV to DSM-5 Schizophrenia Comparison DSM-IV DSM-5 Specifyif: With catatonia (refer to the Paranoid Type(295.30): A type of Schizop DROPPED Disorganized Type(295.10): A type of Sch DROPPED Catatonic Type(295.20): A type of Schizo DROPPED