Who was the 2010 world blitz champion?

Who was the 2010 world blitz champion?

Who was the 2010 world blitz champion?

Levon Aronian
The current world blitz champion is the Norwegian grandmaster Magnus Carlsen….Editions and medallists.

Year 2010
Host city Moscow
Champion Levon Aronian ( ARM )
Runner-up Teimour Radjabov ( AZE )
Third place Magnus Carlsen ( NOR )

Who is number 1 blitz?


Rank Name Rating
1 Carlsen, Magnus 2892
2 Nakamura, Hikaru 2884
3 Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 2838
4 Anand, Viswanathan 2825

How many times Magnus Carlsen lost?

Magnus Carlsen, the world champion, has been having a hard time in the $1.5m online Meltwater Champions Tour, supported by his own company Play Magnus Group. There are 10 qualifying tournaments leading to a final in the autumn and Carlsen, 30, who won the 2020 Tour, has so far this year been knocked out four times.

How long does blitz chess last?

10 minutes
Blitz. Time controls for each player in a game of blitz chess are, according to FIDE, 10 minutes or less per player. This can be played with or without an increment or delay per move—a more recent development due to the influx of digital clocks. Three minutes with a two-second increment is preferred.

Who is the best at blitz chess?

FIDE Blitz Ratings, January 2020 (Top 20)

# Name Rating
1 Nakamura, Hikaru 2900
2 Carlsen, Magnus 2887
3 Vachier-Lagrave, Maxime 2822
4 So, Wesley 2816

Has Magnus Carlsen lost to Hikaru?

Hikaru Nakamura Finally Beats Magnus Carlsen!

Is blitz chess bad?

For many of the same reasons that blitz is so fun – playing out many games in a short period, quick positional and tactical assessments, and unsound sacrificial attacks – blitz can be very harmful to your serious, slow chess game.

Does blitz help your chess?

No, blitz will not help your serious game. You do not have time to analyze in depth, which is the basic necessity to play serious games well. It may be good for trying different opening ideas and sharpening your tactical vision, but not for much else. Most strong players will agree on this.

When did blitz chess become a World Championship?

By 1950, the time controls had changed to the familiar five minutes per player, hence the “five-minute game” moniker; the term “blitz chess” would not be coined until the 1960s. The first blitz chess tournament to be recognized by FIDE as a “world championship” took place on 6 September 2006 in Rishon Lezion, Israel.

Who was the world blitz champion in 2010?

2010 would prove to be the final year of the event – hosted again in Moscow, the tournament was dubbed the VI World Blitz 2010 and held immediately after the Tal Memorial tournament. Despite losing both his final games, Armenian Grandmaster Levon Aronian was able to clinch the title with 24½/38, half a point ahead of Teimour Radjabov.

Who was the winner of the Chess Championship in 2010?

The match took place in Sofia, Bulgaria from 24 April to 13 May 2010, with a prize fund of 2 million euros (60% to the winner). Anand won the final game to win the match 6½–5½ and retain the title.

What’s the best time control for blitz chess?

Blitz time controls on Chess.com are between three and 5 minutes per player. Blitz is the most popular time control on Chess.com with over 3.5 million blitz games played per day. The most popular time controls for blitz are 5|0, and 3|0, although 3|2 is very popular as well.